student gardeners without gardens?

• 2 replies
student gardeners without gardens?
« on: February 28, 2008, 02:22:06 PM »
Hello

I am a student at Concordia University, a long-time gardener, sometimes in a guerilla context, currently without any real space of my own. I am considering putting together a proposal for use of greenhouse space on the downtown campus. The idea would be to make it available to students, and possibly other gardeners, who want to start seedlings, cuttings etc. cheaply, for their own use or for guerilla and community gardening projects.

Before I do that, I just wanted to see whether there was some interest out there, or possibly someone who would want to work with me on the proposal. I would love to hear from other students, or gardeners-without-space in the downtown area.

Bonjour

Je suis une ?tudiante ? Concordia, et je veut faire un application pour un espace communautaire dans la serre de Concordia (centre-ville) pour croiser les semences, propager etc. Je me demande s'il y'a des autres ?tudiant(e)s qui s'interessent de cette id?e.

Re: student gardeners without gardens?
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2009, 11:41:21 PM »
Hey, i'm part of a student group that formed at McGill called Campus Crops. Our aim is to obtain space for students to garden on campus, we started in September of '07 and so far for the past 2 summers have been gardening in a small plot behind the school of environment building on campus. It's a super small space, but we're working on getting some more eventually (and hopefully more volunteers to maintain them because that's an issue right now..). But it's a start! We're not being very  "guerilla", and trying to obtain spaces with the permission of the administration.  We are, however,  doing a workshop on making seedbombs on Saturday, June 22nd with Santropol Roulant, and we want to start a discussion about guerilla gardening. We just want people to throw ideas around basically.