Poll

Do you have a motive for guerrilla gardening?Do one of the follwoing options apply?

Political
2 (12.5%)
Social
7 (43.8%)
Environmental
6 (37.5%)
Other, please specify
1 (6.3%)

Total Members Voted: 16

Voting closed: April 24, 2009, 07:55:10 PM

Guerrilla Gardening Motive

• 7 replies
Guerrilla Gardening Motive
« on: April 19, 2009, 07:55:10 PM »
I am in my first year at Goldsmiths studying anthropology. For one of my reports I have chosen to study the political, social and environmental implications of
guerrilla gardening. I am aiming to assess the motives behind the activity. How would you classify yourself under the given options? Are you a guerrilla gardener to benefit the community, transform society or create a more environmentally friendly city? Please state your point of view maybe we can get a discussion going.

Cheers
Ruby 

Re: Guerrilla Gardening Motive
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 04:10:25 PM »
on my behalf its a political statement, planting veg and fruit around the city is working towards a more
sustainable society, especially in the form of community gardens, im just starting one up with some friends in the
squat we're occupying we wanna give it a try see how little we can mange to rely on money!!will be posting up dates on this.

« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2009, 04:56:42 PM »
I started guerilla gardening because I was invited by a friend, but once I got into it, it got me started in thinking about its value for the community and the environment.

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2009, 12:03:38 PM »
I do not see it as a guerrilla in the strict sense of the world.
It is not about fighting someone or something.
It is about making beautiful something you loved from before, in my case London......!
Social and personal (mabe even individualistic...)reasons are the strongest then...

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 01:05:40 PM »